Where’d It Go?

I should have known that as soon as I put on the music, Avery was going to want to dance. My 3 year old doesn’t understand that I still have work to do…check my Facebook updates, review my blog stats, and read new entries of the bloggers I follow. But, how many times am I going to be able to dance with my 3 year old (she’ll soon be 4). I decided to oblige and enjoy time I know I’ll remember when I’m old(er).

Because I like dance music (some call it techno), I have a solid stable of driving beats to listen to. Sam LaMore’s remix of PNAU’s ‘The Truth’ is one of those productions and provides for a great dance beat that the kids love. So when Avery picked up what I was throwin’ down on the iPod player, she was all about tearin’ up the den.

Just to put it out there, I’ve been known to cut a rug or two in my time. Not that my style is conventional, but it seems to work with whatever music is playing, and I can always take my turn in the center of the dance circle (don’t act like you don’t know what I’m talking about). I have been the center of the pre-party, party down, and after-party with my dancing. Until tonight, that is. To my horror, I realized while dancing with my 3 year old that I had lost my dance.

What in the world happened? When did my revolutionary dance moves turn into running in place? No, I’m not talking about ‘running man’….I know better than to teach her that. But my moves weren’t any good at all. I know this because I confirmed it in the reflection in the TV (it’s a fantastic subtle maneuver to monitor the situation without letting everyone else know you’re watching yourself dance). I tried to go a little low-profile with it to see if I just needed to warm up. When that didn’t work I tried reversing course by hopping and jumping around to see if I could bounce myself back into the groove. That didn’t work either. And, the most disturbing part about all this is that Avery thought it was cool and started mimicking my moves. I decided it was best if I just stop right there.

I remember my wedding night and having so much fun singing and dancing with my friends, siblings, cousins, parents, aunts, uncles, and even grandparents. All of us exhibited good rhythm as we danced the night away to DJ Dan’s superb skills on the tables. But, I do remember thinking about some (not to point any one [generation] out) that the dance moves were a bit dated. When does this happen? Why didn’t someone tell me this before it happened? I would have squeezed in a couple of last club nights if I would have known.

Whenever and for whatever reason it happens, it happened. But, while I could resign to the head bounce and knee wiggle from here on out, I’m going to be happy that the kids love to dance with me, yet. I’m going to practice (in the basement). And I will refuse to be a wall flower. After all, age is in the heart and mind, right? Dance, baby, dance.

Leave a Reply

