The Ill-Advised Novice Training Plan

I bought a trainer for my bike. Now I need to do something with it. I’ve read several different articles from former pro riders, current training pro’s, and other hobby training geeks. So tonight I took a stab at developing a training plan.

I have a rather hectic and variable schedule from week to week and prefer to ride at night. On top of that, it’s the off season, so I’ve been working extra hard on my eating and lounging skills. I haven’t really ridden hard since Iceman (which has actually been harder than I thought to lay off for a month). What I ended up with are three main drills for the trainer and two outdoor rides (as I’ve documented on this blog before, I like riding outside all winter long) that can be extended as winter rolls along and as I get stronger. So, I’ve decided to plan the workouts as individual drills that can be completed at any time during the week. I’ve also decided to plan them week by week so I can monitor/manage my progress.

One of the key reasons why I bought a trainer was ultimately to be able to add saddle time every week without having to leave the house. My goal next summer is to get another 2 hours per week in on the bike. The other advantage of having a trainer is that I don’t have to skip training when weather simply won’t cooperate (rain is about the only thing I don’t like to ride in). Having some training drills and plans will help give structure to those extra hours during the racing season as well.

So, while these drills may change as I get used to them, here’s my first training plan for next week (the first week after a month off – kinda):

TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF DECEMBER 2, 2012

 

Sprints – High Cadence:

10 minute warm up – 30%

15 second on – 100%

15 second rest – 20%    –   10 total reps (5 minutes)

5 minute rest – 40%

15 second on – 100%

15 second rest – 20%    –   10 total reps (5 minutes)

5 minute rest – 40%

15 second on – 100%

15 second rest – 20%    –   10 total reps (5 minutes)

10 minute cool down – 40%

 

Total workout time: 45 Minutes

 

Sprints – Low Cadence:

10 minute warm up – 30%

40 seconds on – 90%

20 seconds off – 40%    5 total reps (5 minutes)

5 minute rest – 40%

40 seconds on – 90%

20 seconds off – 40%    5 total reps (5 minutes)

5 minute rest – 40%

40 seconds on – 90%

20 seconds off – 40%    5 total reps (5 minutes)

10 minute cool down

 

Total workout time:  45 Minutes

 

Sustain:

10 minute warm up – 30%

20 minute sustain – 75%

5 minute rest – 30%

20 minute sustain – 75%

5 minute cool down – 30%

 

Total workout time: 60 Minutes

 

Outdoor Fun Ride:

Whatever for however long

 

Outdoor Lakeshore Ride:

Wherever; just at 75-80% effort for 90 minutes

Leave a Reply

