Fits and Starts

I’m going to get real honest here. I’ve said this before, but training is 75% mental for me with the majority of that being spent on the decision to actually start. I think its easy to look at pro athletes and think that training just comes natural to them; that its fun. Maybe it is, but I want to believe that they go through the same mental anguish that I do before every training session.

The thought process starts like this: set the plan for the week and get pumped up about how hard I’m going to work and how much faster its going to make me. I do really enjoy creating the plan. I can begin to see how the specific drills and structure is going to allow me to be faster next spring. I visualize how much time I’ll take off my laps at various races. I’m winning first place already. Day one of my week, though, I start the mental back-and-forth of what time I should start that day’s work. Do I get up early and do it before work? Do I get after it right after the kids are in bed? Do I relax after the kids go to bed and get it in just before bed? Then once I’ve determined when I’m going to start and arrive at my pre-determined start time, I start thinking “Do I need to do this tonight? What if I woke up tomorrow morning and got it in? My legs are still a bit fatigued and I’m not sure that’s good for them to push it. What if I skipped today’s plan and fit it in on Wednesday?” And by the time I push through the mental road blocks I’m eather 15-30 minutes behind schedule and need to stay up later to fit in the workout or I dilly-dallied enough to run out of time all-together. I’d say I skip a work-out for this reason about 10% of the time.

It’s a frustrating personal challenge to overcome. I know how good I feel after the workout, and I know how disappointed in myself I feel when I skip a planned workout. Still, I fight this same battle every time. Every successful workout will make the battle easier, but I don’t think I’ll ever eliminate of this battle, either.

With that in mind, here’s my training plan for the next week. I did successfully fit my entire plan in last week, including a really fun trail ride on Friday (I’ll be posting the video as soon as it’s done uploading to YouTube). I posted my sprint workout on YouTube earlier this week. It’s my intent to start posting all of my workouts. Google Hangouts makes it easy to broadcast your Hangout to a public livestream and then automatically records and uploads your session to YouTube for replay. It’s sweeeeeet.

TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF DECEMBER 23, 2012
Sprints – High Cadence: Total Completed ?
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
15 second on – 100%
20 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
25 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
35 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
40 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
50 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
60 10 minute cool down – 40% 60 Monday
Strength Training – Upper Body
Sprints – Low Cadence:
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
40 seconds on – 90%
20 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
25 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
35 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
40 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
50 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
60 10 minute cool down 60 Saturday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Sustain:
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
30 20 minute sustain – 80%
35 5 minute rest – 30%
55 20 minute sustain – 80%
60 5 minute rest – 30%
80 20 minute sustain – 80%
90 10 minute cool down – 30% 90 Thursday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Outdoor Fun Ride:
Whatever for however long 75 Sunday
Outdoor Lakeshore or Trail Ride:
Wherever; just at 75-80% effort for 90 minutes 90 Wednesday
Strength Trainin – Upper Body
TOTAL 6.3
Leave a Reply

