The Pivot

I hear this word too often in start-up land. For as annoying as this word has become, what it describes is so essential to success that I just know it will stick around until someone coin’s a replacement. Though highly prevalent in business, particularly start-up culture, it has wide application and I’ll go ahead and use it here for what I’m about to do with my training plan. I’m on a pivot.

Before I describe what, I’ll explain why: I love riding outside; especially in the winter (and snow). I realized this over the past week as I ended up abandoning most of my scheduled trainer specific training plan and recorded over an hour more of total riding than originally planned. Only 1 hour of my 7.5 hours of riding was done on the trainer and I had a riot. I believe I got a better workout to boot. So, because of this, I am shifting some of my riding to the outdoors and combining my sprint interval sessions into one long session.

I will still be outside less than I am in the warmer months, but it will more closely resemble the picture I have in my head for race season where I ride for skill, endurance, and most importantly fun outside while being able to grab a couple of extra hours a week without leaving the house. I can focus on some drills there, then, as well. So, with that explanation here’s my plan for next week:

TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF DECEMBER 30, 2012
Sprint Intervals: Total Completed ?
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
15 second on – 100%
20 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
25 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
35 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
40 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
50 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
55 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
65 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
70 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
80 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
85 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
95 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
105 10 minute cool down – 40% 105 Monday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Sustain:
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
30 20 minute sustain – 80%
35 5 minute rest – 30%
55 20 minute sustain – 80%
60 5 minute rest – 30%
80 20 minute sustain – 80%
90 10 minute cool down – 30% 90 Thursday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Trail Ride:
Get to a local trail: Ride hard for a while 90 Saturday
Outdoor Fun Ride:
Whatever for however long 60 Sunday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Outdoor Lakeshore Ride:
Wherever; just at 75-80% effort for 90 minutes 90 Wednesday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
TOTAL 7.3

 

I again recorded a sprint interval workout via Google Hangout and posted it to YouTube. Enjoy (either by laughing or working out with it).

 

Leave a Reply

