Down Week

The first week of my pivot worked out beautifully. Since that post I have also adopted a training plan technique that was shared through a FaceBook group I belong to. It really helped me plan out my training ramp to this year’s race season, and though I’m still no professional at this, I’m feeling pretty good about the plan so far.

Now that I’m learning more about how I’m performing on my trainer (particularly how effort translates into speedometer output), I’m able to understand and manage my planned effort outputs. For example, on my trainer during my sustain program I’m averaging about 19mph on the speedometer (I am not claiming that this is the equivalent of 19mph out on the open road, but it is consistent enough to base my effort off from) which is about 80% of my speed during my high cadence sprint workout. Hopefully over time this will increase and then I’ll know I’m improving (or so I believe). We’ll find out this summer.

This week will be a down week of training for me. I’m cutting about 75 minutes out of my schedule by reducing bits here and there. I’ll also work at 10-20% less effort. Below is the plan for the week AND my planned season.

 

TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF JANUARY 6, 2013
Sprint Intervals: Total Completed ?
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
15 second on – 85%
20 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
25 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 80%
35 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
40 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 85%
50 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
55 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 80%
65 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
75 10 minute cool down – 40% 75 Monday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Sustain:
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
30 20 minute sustain – 70%
35 5 minute rest – 30%
55 20 minute sustain – 70%
60 5 minute rest – 30%
80 20 minute sustain – 70%
90 10 minute cool down – 30% 60 Thursday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Trail Ride:
Get to a local trail: Ride hard for a while 90 Saturday
Outdoor Fun Ride:
Whatever for however long 60 Sunday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Outdoor Lakeshore Ride:
Wherever; just at 75-80% effort for 90 minutes 75 Wednesday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
TOTAL 6.0

 

2013 Training Plan

Leave a Reply

