Quick Post

Nope, I’m not falling off my training plan (much). I’ve just been really busy working, riding, and planning so the blog updating has been pushed down the list a bit. I did cut my plan back a bit last week due to some time constraints, but I did enjoy having Sunday off enough to do it again this week. I’m still learning a ton about how my body responds to different work-outs and how best to stack my rides and strength training into the week. I’m also starting to develop my plan for how to ramp the plan the closer I get to the start of race season and have recognized that I’m going to have both an opportunity to increase both intensity and duration, with a greater emphasis on intensity.

The other project I’m working on is for a loose Strava Challenge that I’m coordinating over Mother’s Day weekend here in West Michigan. I want to know if I can develop a handicapping system for mountain bike racing that would act similarly to a golf handicap. I believe I can compare actual Strava data for all riders, apply a handicapping divisor, and have everyone compete as one class instead of requiring everyone to sign up in individual classes. The goal would be to reward the person who rose above their historical ability the most. I’ll talk more about that later, but I need to simply state here that its a more laborious process than I was hoping. It’s a good thing there’s only 16 people signed up so far (I’m targeting 20-30 total).

I have an off (the bike) week coming up the first week of February for a ski trip to Lake Tahoe. This week is a typical, but slightly lower intensity week which will build up to a hard week next week before the break. I have to get to the basement, now, but before I go….here’s the plan for this week:

TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF JANUARY 20, 2013
Sprint Intervals: Total Completed ?
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
15 second on – 100%
20 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
25 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
35 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
40 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
50 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
55 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
65 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
70 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
80 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
85 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
95 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
105 10 minute cool down – 40% 105 Monday
Strength Training – Lower Body Thursday
Sustain:
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
30 20 minute sustain – 80%
35 5 minute rest – 30%
55 20 minute sustain – 80%
60 5 minute rest – 30%
80 20 minute sustain – 80%
90 10 minute cool down – 30% 90 Friday
Strength Training – Upper Body
Trail Ride:
Get to a local trail: Ride hard for a while 90 Saturday
Recovery Ride:
Trainer 60 Tuesday
Strength Training – Upper Body
Outdoor Lakeshore Ride:
Wherever; just at 75-80% effort for 90 minutes 90 Wednesday
Strength Training – Lower Body
TOTAL 7.25
Leave a Reply

