RFS

This means I didn’t go for a ride tonight. It means I’m Really Frickin’ Sore. I’m not sure exactly why, but if it’s because of the last two nights, I’m happy to do more.

It started with dedicating a night off the bike to strength training on Thursday night (after 2 straight nights on the bike) which included pushups, pullups, and split squats. I decided to mix up my sustain ride last night and warmed up, sustained my normal 18-19mph pace for 40 minutes and then cooled down. Today I’ve been more sore than I’ve been after any other ride since I’ve started riding bikes again. Trying to follow this ‘listen to your body’ approach to training, I decided to skip my planned ride for tonight. I’d like to know from others who have been following a training program on whether or not you work through it or take the break.

I’m skiing tomorrow and then have a monthly off-week while I ski out west Thursday through Saturday so I am saving my energy for that. Here’s my training program for this week….and then the plan for next week.

TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF JANUARY 27, 2013
Sprint Intervals: Total Completed ?
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
15 second on – 100%
20 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
25 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
35 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
40 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
50 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
55 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
65 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
70 5 minute rest – 40%
15 second on – 100%
80 15 second rest – 20%    –   20 total reps (10 minutes)
85 5 minute rest – 40%
40 seconds on – 90%
95 20 seconds off – 40%    10 total reps (10 minutes)
105 10 minute cool down – 40% 105 Tuesday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Sustain:
10 10 minute warm up – 30%
50 40 Minutes stustained pace – 80/90%
60 10 minute cool down – 30% 60 Friday
13 Commute: 13 Friday
Mixed Bag
Mix up some sustain and sprint intervals 67 Sunday
Outdoor Lakeshore Ride:
Wherever; just at 75-80% effort 90 Wednesday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
TOTAL 5.6
TRAINING SCHEDULE: WEEK OF FEBRUARY 3, 2013
SKI TRIP THIS WEEK
Outdoor Fun Ride:
Whatever for however long 60 Sunday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
Outdoor Lakeshore Ride:
Wherever; just at 75-80% effort for 90 minutes 90 Tuesday
Strength Training – Lower Body
Strength Training – Upper Body
TOTAL 2.5

 

2 thoughts on “RFS

  1. I’ve come to enjoy working through being sore by working out right away. It usually hurts until everything gets warmed up and surprisingly I’m not half as sore when I’m done.

    • I’m going to work on ‘enjoying’ this tomorrow night. I went skiing with the family up at Caberfae today and know that I worked muscles that have been lying dormant for a while. I’ll be on the bike, albeit gently, to work out some of that pain 🙂 It’s really amazing, though, how much better I feel the next day if I get on the bike and even spin it out easy.

Leave a Reply

